Add Pirates Overlay Problem

Discussion in 'Forum Feedback and Suggestions' started by Treasurer, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. Treasurer

    Founder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1,043
    add_pirates.gif

    There is a problem with the overlay, won't scroll down in smaller screen resolutions. As you can see on the screen shot the scroll bar is all the way down , but yet can't see the buttons, and some fields..
     
    #1
  2. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    7,111
  3. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    7,111
    Will add a notice about this to the form in the next iteration. Otherwise there's not much I can do.
     
    #3
  4. Treasurer

    Founder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1,043
    does the overlay uses jquery?
     
    #4
    Rose Sunslipper likes this.
  5. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    7,111
    Technically, it uses the jQuery Tools' overlay system. It's implementation is done by XenForo, and not myself, and is a standard part of their framework. I did not have to write any JS to achieve the overlay effect, it's done with a simple CSS class.

    In the next version I'll add a "Can't see the whole form?" link that will open the form in its own page.
    https://piratesforums.co/pirates/add
     
    #5
  6. Treasurer

    Founder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1,043
    I wrote a overlay effect that if you think you can implement it might solve the problem... it scrolls along with the scroll bar, and loads the content either through defined content or ajax, do you think it could be used?
     
    #6
    Rose Sunslipper likes this.
  7. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    7,111
    Possibly..
    The current system is integrated so that links with an "OverlayTrigger" class will be opened in overlays. It makes an AJAX call, and uses JSON returned by the XenForo framework to load the css/js files required by the template. How does yours pull content via AJAX? Does it use JSON?

    Arguably this issue should be raised with XenForo, since it is a problem with their implementation.
     
    #7
  8. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    7,111
    Better yet, since anyone viewing it in an overlay has javascript enabled, I can use some js magic to redirect to the standalone page if the screen size isn't large enough.
     
    #8
  9. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    7,111
    Fixed.
    If the browser screen is detected to be to small, it will now redirect to the full form.

    I've tested this to the best of my ability and found it to work in all use-cases, but let me know if it's not working for you.
     
    #9
  10. Will Nightwolf

    Will Nightwolf Legendary Pirate
    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,941
    Likes Received:
    4,950
    :confused:face says it all
     
    #10
  11. Christopher Plunderstack

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    166
    Yeah I don't bother to try to understand what they're saying, all I know is that it's fixed now :p
     
    #11
    JadeOHayes likes this.
  12. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    7,111
    Heh.. sorry for the technical talk, would usually be done in private.
    Have just updated the fix so it should work every time, whereas before it was hit or miss.

    Again if it is still happening to anyone, let me know.
     
    #12
  13. Sven Ironwalker

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    299
    Its sadder when you can follow and understand it...lol
     
    #13
  14. Shamus The Brute

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    8,614
    When I first joined, I noticed the issue but...all I had to do was zoom out the page of my screen to 75% instead of 100% :D
     
    #14
  15. captain cc

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    231
    lol
     
    #15
  16. lost_little_fairy

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    270
    Yeah that's what I did. Well, not to 75% I zoomed out to like 90% or 85% and it fixed the problem for me. Like most everyone else I didn't get most of the stuff that was being discussed lol. Punching random buttons usually works well for me...sometimes it doesn't but then it creates a good laugh.
     
    #16
  17. hahaha that comment made my day
     
    #17
  18. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    7,111
    Just to update..

    I have changed this so that the overlay will now scroll. I have also fixed a bug with adding pictures, and another where square images weren't filling the card correctly.
     
    #18

Share This Page