Question Any Guitar Players On Here?

CharlotteIronPhoenix

Honorable Pirate
Hey guys! After wanting on for a long time, I finally bought a guitar from a consignment store that was going out of business. Cosmetically it needs some TLC, but the neck and body look good and after a fresh pair of strings it sounds good too.

But... I have no idea how to play. Or read music. But I really want to learn! So I was wondering, any guitarists on here know of any decent resources online that I can learn from (Or good books)?

I started playing just about a year ago :)

I would recommend taking at least a few private lessons to learn the most important basics of guitar, but if that doesnt sound like something you're interested in, the JustinGuitar YouTube channel has awesome videos for total beginners all the way up through pretty advanced players. If you follow his beginner course you will be in good hands.

Also I'd recommend learning some music theory if you still have a drive to learn on the guitar after you're comfortable with the basics. Knowing why you're playing what youre playing can help it make a lot more sense, and it will aid you tremendously down the road if you ever want to write anything yourself!

Guitar player for 8 years, and gigging for 2, with a pretty good band if I do say so myself. Guitar is much more intimidating to look at, than to play. On the surface it's tough, but when you start learning, I believe its very simple. It's all muscle memory, like driving a car, or riding a bike, you begin to just, remember how to do stuff.