Announcement Attention Players: 32-bit Deprecation Warning

Discussion in 'TLOPO News and Announcements' started by The Crew, Nov 29, 2018.

  1. The Crew

    TLOPO Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    499
    Hi, everyone!

    The Legend of Pirates Online will soon no longer support 32-bit computers, thereby restricting the game to only run on 64-bit computers. If you are affected by this deprecation, you will receive a pop-up on the Avatar Chooser upon logging into the game; if you do not see the dialog upon logging into the game, you are not affected by this deprecation.

    Unfortunately, if your computer is affected by this deprecation, the only way to be able to continue playing TLOPO will be to purchase a newer computer that is 64-bit.

    There are several reasons why we have decided to stop supporting 32-bit computers, most notably is performance and reliability. There are also additional security benefits that we can take advantage of by compiling TLOPO for only 64-bit architecture.

    For more information on the difference between 32-bit and 64-bit, please check out this link from Microsoft.

    ~ The Crew @ The Legend of Pirates Online
     
    #1
  2. Blondie357

    Blondie357 Honorable Pirate

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    118
    You dont necessarily have to purchase a new computer.. just an operating system that is 64-bit (IF your computer supports it)...
     
    #2
  3. LackingAName

    LackingAName Notorious Pirate

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    831
    Some more information that could also be of use;



    If you’re not sure whether your computer has a 64-bit version of Windows—or even a 64-bit CPU—you can check from within Windows.

    Windows 10
    Head to Settings > System > About. Look to the right of the “System type” entry. If you see “64-bit operating system, x64-based processor,” your computer is running a 64-bit operating system. If you see “32-bit operating system, x64-based processor,” your computer is running a 32-bit operating system but is capable of running a 64-bit operating system.

    Windows 7
    Head to Control Panel > System and Security > System. Look at “System type” to see if you’re running a 32-bit or 64-bit operating system. Windows 7’s Control Panel doesn’t show whether your CPU is 64-bit capable, so you’ll want to perform an online search for the processor name—displayed on the System screen—to find out whether it’s a 64-bit CPU if you’re currently running 32-bit Windows.


    If anyone has questions feel free to ask away. Myself and many others are willing to help out.
     
    #3
  4. Edward Stormbreaker

    Edward Stormbreaker Honorable Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    173
    On Windows 10, you should be able to literally type in "See if you have a 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows" in the Windows search box. This shortcut takes you to Settings > System > About, where you can scroll down to see if your computer is 32- or 64-bit.
     
    #4
    MissMerlin likes this.
  5. FlyingRum

    FlyingRum Buccaneer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    62
    http://prntscr.com/lp7ffu
    http://prntscr.com/lp7fjs

    Keep in mind if it says here you have a 32 bit OS but your CPU is 64 bit compatible then you may consider upgrading or buying or pirating (arr) a copy of 64 bit windows because 64 bit applications will not work in a 32 bit OS even if the CPU supports 64 bit.
     
    #5
    Deckshot likes this.
  6. PrivateRiley

    PrivateRiley Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5,906
    Likes Received:
    1,538
    You can download Windows 10 for free, but it will have a watermark and I believe you can't access some of the personalization features. So if you are only downloading Windows 10 64-bit for TLOPO, you could put an unactivated copy on a partition of your current drive or on a separate drive in a dual boot setup. Unless you do not mind the watermark, then you can just replace your current OS with it.
    If you do not want to shell out your hard earned cash to activate Windows 10, but you want to activate your copy, then you can buy a cheap license from a third-party seller for much less.

    Once TLOPO supports Linux, which should not be too far away (I hope), you can get a free 64-bit Linux distribution to run TLOPO. I'm not sure that many people would want to use Linux as their daily driver so Linux could also be used in a dual boot setup in the same manner as Windows.
     
    #6
    Captain Chris likes this.
  7. Shamus The Brute

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    9,371
    Since “the change,” can anyone comment upon whether or not (on average) more issues are occurring in-game or less?

    I know this ^ inquiry is kinda iffy for TLOPO to maybe publicly discuss but POTCO was originally dev to compensate for a “wide” range of (OLD) computer systems and I guess what I fear is if all of that is tweaked/changed maybe perhaps such change would be enough to eventually cause greater instability.

    Thoughts? :confused:
     
    #7
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2019
    BrandonSJ96 and ThunderStorms like this.
  8. Shamus The Brute

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    9,371
    NVM. I failed to understand that only the launcher itself has thus far experienced the change. (The game itself is still awaiting the conversion).
     
    #8
    MissMerlin and ThunderStorms like this.
  9. Jason O'Connell

    Forum Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    2,212
    I don't think there is much risk of this creating greater instability, because it should allow the devs to streamline things. Backwards compatibility is always nice, but it often makes maintaining a system a lot harder.
     
    #9
    MissMerlin and Shamus The Brute like this.
  10. BrandonSJ96

    BrandonSJ96 Pirate

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    29
    Windows XP has a OS package that is 64 bit. It is playable but may not meet the specified minimal system requirements.
     
    #10
  11. BrandonSJ96

    BrandonSJ96 Pirate

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    29
    My thoughts exactly. Changing this to support only 64 bit operating systems is not the way to fix these instability issues in fact as mentioned to my last thread there is traces of memory leaks with in the gameplay. The game can cope very much less virtual/physical memory usage like it was back in POTCO times.
     
    #11
    Shamus The Brute likes this.
  12. PrivateRiley

    PrivateRiley Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5,906
    Likes Received:
    1,538
    Actually, 32-bit operating systems can only address up to 4 GB of memory. Having a 64-bit operating system allows you to have more and thus be able to combat any memory leaks and increase stability.

    I doubt the main goal of requiring a 64-bit operating system was to increase stability, although it can help and should not cause greater instability.
     
    #12
    MissMerlin and BrandonSJ96 like this.
  13. squintz

    squintz Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Is there any thought of actually taking the whole game 64bit, or just the launcher?
     
    #13
  14. squintz

    squintz Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    True. Now we will get 8 to 16 gig memory leaks.
     
    #14
    BrandonSJ96 likes this.
  15. Jason O'Connell

    Forum Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    2,212
    I think the plan is to eventually move the whole game onto 64bit.
     
    #15
    MissMerlin and BrandonSJ96 like this.
  16. BrandonSJ96

    BrandonSJ96 Pirate

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    29
    Launcher is 64 bit concurrently they do plan to interpret the client to be 64 bit compatible allowing the developers to do more to streamline memory above 4 GB usage limit apart from 32 bit build. Depending on their operating system and CPU compatibility they prefer using the 32 bit client if they can't afford a 64 bit. It may become a deprecated optional download to be able to play the game under physical specification limits.
     
    #16
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2019
    MissMerlin likes this.
  17. Shamus The Brute

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    9,371
    I’m too lazy to look or research. Anyone know what TTR is doing with the compatibility of their launcher/remake?
     
    #17
    BrandonSJ96 likes this.