1. Hey, Guest! Pirates Forums is hosting a Meet and Greet for Halloween. Read more here!

Game Requirements?

Discussion in 'Pirates of the Caribbean Online' started by LEO, Jan 2, 2011.

?

Should Disney increase the minimum requirement for the game such as increasing 700 MB to 800 or 1 GB

  1. Yes, it could give them freedom to add more new stuff to the game and fix bugs

    11 vote(s)
    61.1%
  2. No, it's high enough

    1 vote(s)
    5.6%
  3. I don't care as long as game gets better

    6 vote(s)
    33.3%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LEO

    LEO
    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    I been playing this game for just over a year now. I seen a lot of other high rated games and most of them have way higher requirements compared to POTCO especially in the disk space requirements. I'm no computer genius but but if this was increased it would make sense that they could add more new stuff to POTCO without removing anything else. Correct me if i'm wrong and please share your opinion.
     
    #1
  2. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    7,329
    Well, Disney likes to keep games light so they can reach more potential customers. Kids often get hand-me-down computers, which aren't as capable as newer ones of course. Since the target audience is children/families, it makes sense to keep requirements low.

    Though, most performance bottlenecks lie within RAM (memory), and the CPU (processor). While milage may vary with those, disk space is pretty static and could be bumped if needed without causing much harm.

    If it was, the game could probably look a bit more aesthetically pleasing.. but unfortunately I doubt that will happen.
     
    #2
    Elusive Treasures, LEO and Will like this.
  3. LEO

    LEO
    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Well by looking at statistics of other MMO games, most of them have way higher requirements compared to POTCO. Take WoW for example. They have 16 GB or something like that and other higher requrements and is one of the most played online games. For POTCO, i'm not saying make it that high that others cant play it, just a little higher than it is right now so it's possible to make game more enjoyable . It could make the game have better graphics and add new stuff in my opinion.
     
    #3
  4. Elusive Treasures

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    116
    I was just thinking , I might need to get a computer just for the game and nothing else except screen shots and spell check. lol
     
    #4
  5. shark thunder theif

    shark thunder theif Honorable Pirate

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    119
    well i just want the game to get better i dont care what they have to do just make it better
     
    #5
    Captain Star likes this.
  6. Raven Trueheart

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    197
    Davy.....you know an aweful lot about computers, as do some of you others, what would a pc need to have to run better in this game? I have a gaming laptop and the one at home is 3 years old and showing sluggish and freezing up while playing. So another words, if someone was to go out and purchase a new pc, what requirements would you look for in a new computer for gaming?
     
    #6
  7. shark thunder theif

    shark thunder theif Honorable Pirate

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    119
    that is true [​IMG] my laptop is already 4 years old and let me tell u it lags like crazy sometimes even on this site
     
    #7
  8. Igor too wishes for more... Igor say even if need new PC. Igor just wonder how it would be done Leo?
     
    #8
  9. LEO

    LEO
    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    I'm gonna quote something from someone else who i think seemed to know a lot about this type of stuff. Read it you might learn something from it!


    What i got from this is that the game developers are using old technology meaning outdated stuff which is bad for the new technology most of us have now.
     
    #9
    Shamus The Brute likes this.
  10. corey

    corey Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    i just read that and my head hurts
     
    #10
  11. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    7,329
    To correct a few mistakes in that, Pirates of the Caribbean Online and its sister game, Toontown Online run on an open source game engine called "Panda3D." Panda3D was initially created by Disney's VR Studio, not for Toontown, but for 3D rides/attractions in Disney parks.

    Panda3D is now maintained largely by Carnegie Mellon University (though in being open-source, anybody capable of doing so is able to contribute to its development). It is certainly not outdated when it comes to modern technology. The game engine is capable of much more (graphics wise) than what you see in PotCO or TT. Disney creates the meshes (3D models) to perform well on low-end machines (for reasons I've talked about above), resulting in the graphics not looking as smooth (containing fewer vertices/subsurfs). Panda3D just renders the models, it has little to do with how good or bad they are.

    While low-end computers are becoming more capable, it is unlikely Disney will go back to create smoother graphics at this time.. and it's very doubtful they will switch engines because that would likely require a large rewrite of the code (and as I said, there isn't really a problem with the current engine).
     
    #11
    Shamus The Brute likes this.
  12. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    7,329
    Sorry to skip over this. For gaming, ~4GB memory and probably something from Intel's Core i5 line for a processor should perform well.
     
    #12
  13. Hector Hullgull

    Hector Hullgull Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    1,781
    I just want Disney to fix the lag lol
     
    #13
  14. LEO

    LEO
    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Wow asuper old thread... Brings back memories :p
     
    #14
  15. Davy Darkrage

    Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    7,329
    Heh.. closing ;)
     
    #15
    LEO likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page