Up to 64th

Discussion in 'TLOPO Guides and Tips' started by redscarelett, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. redscarelett

    redscarelett Honorable Pirate

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    95
    For those who are trying to increase your FPS. My desktop is a HP Slimline 450-A24 and the processor is solder to the board. It has only 4 Execution Unit for graphics, like 4 pipelines. there is 64 meg of dedicate memory and 1,782 meg of share memory.
    The first screenshot had TLOPO directory in Program Files (x86) and second is TLOPO directory in Program Files. I'm running Windows 10 1809. I have not change the graphic driver from HP. It was released in 2016 version Intel 10.18.10.4252. The screenshot was take in Valor Ocean with 14 players including myself. This is a good find for the New Year.

    screenshot_2019-02-05_18-49-32.jpg screenshot_2019-02-05_20-38-59.jpg
     
    #1
    Shamus The Brute likes this.
  2. Shamus The Brute

    Site Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,844
    Likes Received:
    9,383
    Are you comparing a difference on your end because of a system change/system upgrade or, are you saying something else otherwise? (A change within your post I am only understanding [besides the ‘huge’ boost in FPS] is the point you made about different directories being used).

    My apologies. I am not too tech savvy.
     
    #2
    ThunderStorms likes this.
  3. redscarelett

    redscarelett Honorable Pirate

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    95
    It is how TLOPO_win64_setup_1.40.exe behaves if it place in a 32bit folder, Program Files (x86). TLOPO_winsetup_1.31.exe is 32bit installer of the game. So the new program will install in that folder. So I uninstall TOLPO and reinstall it again and in went to Program Files directory. Which is a 64bit folder, but there is a small problem, which is hopping oceans. This boost only works once. Change to a different ocean and I went back to 7.0 fps. Oceans which are popular has not been tested. This find may only work on certain type of machine. There needs to be more players to verify behavior. There is no need to apologies, developers may be better at explaining this, than I.
     
    #3
    Shamus The Brute likes this.
  4. squintz

    squintz Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    You may have something there as starting with windows 7 I believe microsoft created the two different bit operating folders to better isolate 32 bit from 64bit from what I recon. Windows 64 will use the 64 bit folder for dll and such. So I wonder if one can just move everything into that 'program' folder and not the x86 folder. I don't recall tlopo gave me a choice when it installed. Maybe it did?
    I'm going to look into this tonight and tomorrow and see whats up. It makes sense to me.

    Now I'm wondering if I should wipe and have it install to the c: drive. Perhaps I can direct it to the 64bit folder for future proofing?

    Just checked and I don't know what my install is doing to my playability. I have installed tlopo in a separate game hard drive from my c: drive. So basically it isn't showing up in either of those c: folders.
    But the tlopo logo shows up under C:/user path. tlopo has no presence on my c: drive. IDK now.
     
    #4
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2019
    Shamus The Brute likes this.