Idea Combat System Rework

Nate Dreadshot

Wanted Pirate
The current combat system is boring and makes no sense. One of the first things I noticed when I started playing this game is that you can't play any defense in a sword fight, and that you just stab each other til one dies. Coming from the movies this is pretty sad, where they are dodging and ducking and (actual) parrying etc. So today I thought about how it could work instead. Here's what I came up with:

Let me introduce to you first the "Stamina" bar. The stamina bar would go under hp and voodoo bars, it would expend and refill much faster, and here's what it would be used for
Stam bar actions:

Dodge left double tap left (A)
Dodge right double tap right (D)
Stepback dodge double tap back (S)
Lunge double tap forward (W)
Block press Ctrl, blocks any one melee attack/piece of combo completely, canceling their animation and breaking their combo (more on significance of this reading down). Active for one second. Costs the most stamina.

Dodge actions should have the appearance of your player quickly leaning their body far to one side or back, and move their hitbox with them, it should be enough that standing right next to them you'd have to move your direction very quickly to hit them while dodging, and then they go back in place. The feet won't move, it's not a movement.

Now let me come back to that, here is the most important thing for any of this to work:

You should only be hitting someone and dealing damage if your sword is actually in contact with their body, not just once and then from afar for the rest of the combo, each swing should be this way.